Dark Angel

After the success of the ’97 film Titanic, I worked with James Cameron on ideas for a television show I called Dark Angel.

Continuing the theme of the name “Max”, my pet name for Michael Hutchence, it became the lead character’s name played by Jessica Alba.  She was part me and part Hutch, who often took me for rides on his bike.

The show was set in Seattle, Washington due to  Kurt Cobain being born in Washington.  The character Colonel Donald Lydecker (John Savage) was also using Kurt’s middle name.

Original Cindy (Valarie Rae Miller) was named for my brother’s ex-girlfriend who became a friend to me as a young girl.  Cindy and Max’s friendship was based on the close relationship I had with my best friend.  It was Kurt and Michael Hutchence’s idea for her to be a lesbian.

Logan Cale (Michael Weatherly) was named for the 1976 sci-fi film Logan’s Run and the surname Cale for my Orthodontist who removed my braces only a month before Joe Elliott discovered me in May 1983.  Logan’s character was in a wheelchair inspired by Tom Cruise deciding to develop the 1989 film “Born on the Fourth of July” based on the life of Vietnam War veteran Ron Kovic.  Later, Prince Charles would roll around Buckingham Palace in a wheelchair and Kurt Cobain would use a wheelchair as part of his performance at Reading Rock Festival.

I used the name Max Logan (Karen Alexander) as the character name in the 1995 film Bad Boys.

Eyes Only was inspired by the “For Your Eyes Only” theme recorded by Sheena Easton, who  would record the song “Sugar Walls” written by me under the pseudonym Alexander Nevermind, for the 1981 James Bond film of the same title.

The character name Alec (Jensen Ackles) was inspired by my pseudonym Alexander Nevermind and as in many projects I worked on had a twin by the name of Ben.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

