U2

It was lyrics in Fleetwood Mac’s “Tusk” that inspired me to make up the song “Don’t Say You Love Me” recorded by Billy Squier and released in 1989.

“Don’t say that you love me!” - Tusk

It was written in 1983 after the relationship with Michael Hutchence became serious.  I told Michael to never tell me he loved me, because I would never believe him.

This is not the only song Tusk influenced me while writing songs, but also when writing Change (In The House of Flies) recorded by the band I named the Deftones and released in 2000.

For the band U2  I wrote the song Sunday Bloody Sunday about the march in Alabama on March 7, 1965 — “Bloody Sunday” — when 600 civil rights marchers were attacked by state and local police with billy clubs and tear gas.

The beginning lyrics were inspired by The Beatles “A Day in the Life” from St. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band…”I read the news today oh, boy”.  The album is one I had in my record collection when Joe Elliott discovered me which was a rare edition released in December of 1978.

The lyrics “back up against the wall” inspired by Pink Floyd’s The Wall, would be repeated in similiar lyrics in another song I wrote titled “Bully” performed by a band I named Shinedown.  A constant influence on my lyrics was INXS’ The One Thing and inspired the lyrics “we can be as one”.

I can’t believe the news today
Oh, I can’t close my eyes and make it go away!

How long?
How long must we sing this song?
How long?
How long?

‘Cause tonight…we can be as one
Tonight…

Broken bottles under children’s feet
Bodies strewn across the dead-end streets
But I won’t heed the battle call
It puts my back up, puts back up against the wall!

Sunday, Bloody Sunday
Sunday, Bloody Sunday
Sunday, Bloody Sunday (Sunday, Bloody Sunday)
All right lets go!

And the battles just begun
Theres many lost but tell me who has won
The trenches dug within our hearts
And mothers, children, brothers, sisters torn apart!

Sunday, Bloody Sunday
Sunday, Bloody Sunday
How long…how long must we sing this song?
How long?
How long?

‘Cause tonight…we can be as one
Tonight Tonight (Sunday, Bloody Sunday)
Tonight Tonight (Sunday, Bloody Sunday)
Tonight
Come get some!

Wipe the tears from your eyes
Wipe your tears away
Wipe your tears away
I wipe your tears away (Sunday, Bloody Sunday)
I wipe your blood shot eyes (Sunday, Bloody Sunday)

Sunday, Bloody Sunday (Sunday, Bloody Sunday)
Sunday, Bloody Sunday (Sunday, Bloody Sunday)
Here I come!

And it’s true we are immune
When fact is fiction and TV reality
And today the millions cry
We eat and drink while tomorrow they die!

The real battle yet began (Sunday, Bloody Sunday)
To claim the victory Jesus won (Sunday, Bloody Sunday on…

Sunday, Bloody Sunday
Sunday, Bloody Sunday…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

