What do I stand for?

As I mentioned in an earlier post, Fleetwood Mac, Stevie Nicks and Tusk was a major influence on my songwriting.  I also had the pleasure of writing  songs Stevie would go onto recorded over the years which included Gypsy, “Rooms on Fire“, and others.

I would go on to write the songs “We Are Young” and “Some Nights” both recorded by the band Fun.  I named the band after I wrote the song “Funhouse” recorded by the artist I gave the stage name of “P!nk”.

Some Nights composition was inspired by  Fleetwood Mac’s Tusk.  One of my “tells” in the lyrics is the mention of “Black and White” which was a reference to the 1982 INXS song and writing the song “Black or White” for Michael Jackson.  There were times when what was happening to me over the years with the threats, the abuse, being jerked around by those in the industry, it did make me question my faith and belief in a higher power.  In the end, it was my faith and family that kept me strong which is what I was expressing  through the song.

Some nights, I stay up cashing in my bad luck
Some nights, I call it a draw
Some nights, I wish that my lips could build a castle
Some nights, I wish they’d just fall off

But I still wake up, I still see your ghost
Oh Lord, I’m still not sure what I stand for oh
What do I stand for? What do I stand for?
Most nights, I don’t know anymore…
Oh whoa, oh whoa, oh whoa oh oh
Oh whoa, oh whoa, oh whoa oh oh

This is it, boys, this is war – what are we waiting for?
Why don’t we break the rules already?
I was never one to believe the hype – save that for the black and white
I try twice as hard and I’m half as liked, but here they come again to jack my style

And that’s alright; I found a martyr in my bed tonight
Stops my bones from wondering just who I am, who I am, who I am
Oh, who am I? mmm… mmm…

Well, some nights, I wish that this all would end
Cause I could use some friends for a change
And some nights, I’m scared you’ll forget me again
Some nights, I always win, I always win…

But I still wake up, I still see your ghost
Oh Lord, I’m still not sure what I stand for, oh
What do I stand for? What do I stand for?
Most nights, I don’t know… (come on)

So this is it? I sold my soul for this?
Washed my hands of that for this?
I miss my mom and dad for this?

(Come on)

No. When I see stars, when I see, when I see stars, that’s all they are
When I hear songs, they sound like this one, so come on
Oh, come on. Oh, come on, OH COME ON!

Well, that is it guys, that is all – five minutes in and I’m bored again
Ten years of this, I’m not sure if anybody understands
This one is not for the folks at home; Sorry to leave, mom, I had to go
Who the f*** wants to die alone all dried up in the desert sun?

My heart is breaking for my sister and the con that she call “love”
When I look into my nephew’s eyes…
Man, you wouldn’t believe the most amazing things that can come from…
Some terrible nights…ahhh…

Oh whoa, oh whoa, oh whoa, oh oh
Oh whoa, oh whoa, oh whoa, oh oh

The other night, you wouldn’t believe the dream I just had about you and me
I called you up, but we’d both agree
It’s for the best you didn’t listen
It’s for the best we get our distance… oh…
It’s for the best you didn’t listen
It’s for the best we get our distance… oh…

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

